Just tired of Japanese people lately

I am so tired of Japanese people, and how they are. Tired of being asked can you eat this or being looked down upon as if I can’t even begin to understand things. Being treated like a child even though I am 27. This is my fourth year in Japan and it is becoming closer to becoming my last for awhile.

Recently I had to let my school know about how I’m stressed out and how people have passed away in my family back home. It was unavoidable since I have been taking off and leaving work early. Among other things.

When I was talking to the English teacher she felt sympathy and then was like, “Are you going back to see them?” and I’m like, “No, I can’t really afford it for such a short amount of time.” And the teacher reacts with this expression, “No way! But you’re rich, you know! うそ、お金持ちでしょう!”

That stung. This English teacher is rich thinking just needs to fucking die.

Also I further explained that I broke up with my girlfriend of two years so that added to the stressed feelings. Then she is like, “Oh, well we all knew that. I mean you hadn’t talked about her.” She then laughed about it. You know, I really respect this co-worker. But seriously? And everyone knew? I really like how people just assumed. I just wonder what other shit Japanese are assuming about me just because I don’t like to talk about myself much.

Now that I think about it most Japanese are always interested in finding out about what I do in my own free time but they never really like to open up about their own.

I need a vacation.

These things have been building up lately. But this was just a recent thing that has been mauling me over, and I just had to write it out.

Leave a comment

Filed under Japan

Leave a Reply

