I want to disturb the 和

“OMG you can read that!? SuGoiii111!!!!” “Uhh, yeah.” I reply with a bit of anger in my voice.

I think I’ve reached a point where these kinds of things just aren’t cute and not taken as compliments anymore. Although, I can’t recall a time when I ever thought of them as a compliment. I just want to be a dick when these things come up, and answer with a witty response. But I am too Japanese from my own good and just act passive aggressive about it even if it does piss me off.

For some reason I still am remembering an experience I had at work. I printed an article from the newspaper because it interested me. And and my coworker is like, “Huh? Can you read this?” Ughh these things just get under my skin. I’m really trying my best to get this language but the people keep beating me down with backhanded comments. You know, is it just me or do Japanese people seem to compliment you when you can try easy things in Japanese. But try to read the newspaper or attempt to move up in this society and you start getting these backhanded comments.

Anyone else still get these? How do you deal with them even after being in Japan for so long? I know Japanese mean well, but that shouldn’t excuse ignorance.

Leave a comment

Filed under Japan, Reflection

Leave a Reply

